Ohio requires all drivers carry liability insurance. However, the state only requires a minimum policy of $25,000/$50,000. The first number is the required coverage per person, while the second number is the required coverage for all persons injured in any one collision. Ask anyone who has ever received any medical care (so probably everyone) medical bills can get very high very quickly. Add in lost wages and other economic damages, you can see that $25,000 coverage is not going to go very far in the event of a collision.
So what happens if you are hit by a driver with the state minimum coverage? You may very well be limited to recovering their policy limits. While injured parties can seek the personal assets of negligent drivers, in reality, that can be difficult, especially if the driver who caused the wreck has limited assets. The best solution is to protect yourself by carrying underinsured motorist coverage (UIM). This coverage kicks in for amounts over the policy limits of the at-fault driver. The amount you should carry depends on your personal situation, but it is certainly advisable to exceed the state minimum requirements of $25,000.
According to some published reports, over 10% of Ohio drivers disregard the law and carry no liability insurance. That is why it is also important that you carry uninsured motorist coverage (UM). This coverage applies if you are injured as the result of negligence of a driver with no insurance.
Ohio does not mandate either UIM or UM coverage, but everyone should consult with the insurance agent to be sure you are covered if you are hit by a driver with either low limits or worse, no coverage at all.
If you are injured by the negligence of an uninsured or underinsured driver, let McCarthy Law Office guide you through the process and fight for the maximum amount of compensation.